Northeastern’s IRB is composed of University faculty, staff and members of the local community.

As set forth in 45 CFR 46.107 – IRB Membership, “Each IRB shall have at least five members, with varying backgrounds to promote complete and adequate review of research activities commonly conducted by the institution.

The IRB shall be sufficiently qualified through the experience and expertise of its members, and the diversity of the members, including consideration of race, gender, and cultural backgrounds and sensitivity to such issues as community attitudes, to promote respect for its advice and counsel in safeguarding the rights and welfare of human subjects.”

IRB Charter and Board Member Manual:

The IRB Charter and Board Member Manual details the IRB’s institutional commitment, member roles and responsibilities, membership requirements, and review processes at Northeastern.

Full & Alternate IRB members:

Derek Isaacowitz (Chair), Department of Psychology
Mark Henderson (Vice Chair), Public Policy
Meryl Alper, Communication Studies
Elizabeth Bachen, Department of Psychology
Lisa Bailey-Laguerre, Director of Community Relations, Center on Crime, Race, and Justice
Anita Balgopal, HRPP
Christopher Bingel, Radiation Safety
April Boudreau, HRPP
Clarke Dalton, HRPP
CJ Hasson, Physical Therapy
Mario Hernandez, Sociology
Jeanne Madden, Pharmacy and Health Systems Sciences
Patty Mason, CPS
Jack McDevitt, Criminology and Criminal Justice
Mounira Morris, CPS
Rae Mwangi, HRPP
Youngbok Ryu, CPS
Claire Spelkoman, HRPP
Mercedes Tompkins, Community Member
Curtis Van Slyck, Research Compliance
Andrea Voehringer, Office of Academic Environmental Health and Safety
Erik Williams, HRPP
Lichuan Ye, Nursing
Sheng-Che Ye, Clinical Rehab Sciences

Ex-officio members:

Rick Alves – Asst General Counsel, Boston
John Crowley, Asst. General Counsel, Boston